Razzle Dazzle Silverado

There comes a time in every persons life when you just have to stop giving a shit and not care. This can be towards life in general, towards work, towards education, towards the political system, societal mores and consumerism, etc.

In this particular instance it is with my pick up truck, which is a 6L V8 300hp 3/4 ton 2000 chevy silverado. I bought it off craigslist for $2900 bucks back in 2013, pretty much 3 years on the dot at this point. It had some rust and 245,000 miles on it. Now it has a LOT of rust and 268,000 miles on it. Since I just moved to Pennsylvania I had to get it registered and part of that is getting it through inspection. During inspection came the final nail in the coffin that confirmed that, yes, it is time to move on the truck has a sway bar which has disintegrated, the water pump is leaking, and both exhaust manifolds are cracked and the passenger side manifold is leaking. These are things that can’t really be replaced because there is so much rust on them that the bolts would literally have to be chopped off and drilled out.

So now what … basically get a roommate and start saving up for a new truck, and buy that truck from somewhere in the south where rust isn’t as prevalent. But for now – I have a truck that I don’t care about – so lets have some fun!

The design idea came from an artist I met once back in North Carolina who had an old ford F150 and he mentioned that he wanted to do a razzle dazzle paint job on it, and at the time I didn’t know what that was so after looking it up i thought it was interesting enough. So this thanksgiving break I spent most of my time in the garage doing this. It was a type of camouflage that was used in WWI for maritime applications to make it more difficult for u-boats to identify the direction of travel and speed of ships and aircraft carriers.

This is the truck before I started the razzle dazzle job, I took this set of images and then printed them up and penciled in the final design I wanted to go with:

 

From there the taping begins, I think I went through about 200ft of painters tape which was probably about $25 bucks worth of tape … that stuff is expensive but it definitely works. Prior to taping I detailed all the to be painted surfaces, this was the first time the truck had been cleaned in the 3 years I’ve owned it.

 

The taping took a lot of time and I used an exacto knife to make the finer corners, one of the challenging aspects of taping like this was with what I was trying to pull off with the design which is to imitate a geometric edge by having converging alternating black and white stripes. you can see this on the passenger side and the hood of the car.

From there came the fastest part of the entire job which was actually just doing the rattle can job. I put down two coats of gloss black rustoleum high performance enamel which came out really well. Before removing the tape the truck basically looked black – it was interesting seeing the opposite color of vehicle. The second coat is always tricky though because it’s not as obvious as to what areas you’ve painted and which you haven’t biggest issue there is either missing a spot or putting too much down to the point that you get drips or run out.

 

pp_lfrontpp_driverside

 

And finally, the removal of the tape – this took a solid hour and I ended up with a trashcan sized tape ball. But the finished product speaks for itself … for better or worse. driverssidefrontrotatedtg_rotatedroomf passsidedriverside

About theliberalengineer
I'm an engineer, need I say more? Engineering isn't merely a profession, it's a lifestyle and worldview.

Leave a Reply

